Hydrangeas

I LOVE my hydrangeas.  My grandmother loved hers as well.  Those full nodding heads of seaside blue were a theme of my childhood summers.  When I moved in this home 26 years ago the first thing I did was plant a hydrangea bush, then another, and another and well…they’re sort of like Lays potato chips…you can’t have just one.  So I have dozens of hydrangeas all around my home and revel in the beauty of their color as they change through the spring, summer and fall. This shot is of one of the blooms as it changed slowly from blue to green…a change that happens yearly but this year was captured on “film”.

FF is a wonderful excuse to scour my photo files and then take a photo into any one of my many software programs to change it through digital magic!  I call this one Dream of Green.Image

I’m linking this photo up to Kim Klassen’s Friday Finds.

Kim Klassen dot Com

About PrimAndTattered

The Past ~ a little girl lived by the sea and dreamt of designing beautiful dresses for beautiful ladies. The Present ~ a seasoned seamstress who lives by the sea and designs folk art e-patterns to help others express their creative side and realize their dreams.
This entry was posted in Flowers, Friday Finds and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Hydrangeas

  1. mscarletti says:

    Truly a work of art. Love it!

    • Thanks Sarah…I do sooooo love doing all the post processing of my photos! There’s something magical that happens when you work hand in hand with mother nature 🙂 Have a wonderful holiday season!

  2. Cindy M says:

    Lovely work, and of course, I am a huge fan of hydrangeas also!

    • Thanks for your comment Cindy…I always ask my friends…what’s NOT to like about hydrangeas? For some reason most of the people I know prefer bright colored annuals and they’ll start planning their gardens in February 🙂 Myself…I just allow my plants to grow at their own pace with a pruning now and again. I recently heard that they should NOT be pruned in the fall but at the end of winter. Apparently that lets them bloom later in the season with more brilliant colors. Don’t know if this is true but I’m going to do a bit more study on this and see which ones I’m willing to experiment with. I’m even thinking of adding a few more to another part of my yard but that’s a decision I’ll leave until the seed catalogues come out this winter 🙂 Have a wonderful holiday season!

  3. Stephanie says:

    Hydrangeas are a favorite of mine. I love the changing colors too. That is a lovely shot.

    • Thanks for the compliment Stephanie…I so adore this particular type of flower…in the late spring they’re so lush and the ones in my front yard are so BLUE. The circular bed in my side yard which includes lacecaps tens more towards the pink and violet shades. In the back yard the biggest bush is usually blue but as it nears the fence and the three bushes on the other side of it the color fades off to a gorgeous pale violet with some aqua. I have no idea how to control the color (although I’ve read plenty of suggestions) but I figure that mother nature is a better artist than I am so I just let them do their thing and enjoy the beautiful picture opportunities they afford 🙂

  4. Absolutely beautiful. I love hydrangea too and your blog header is so stunning

  5. Beverly says:

    The colors and softness are just perfectly beautiful. And the extra “falling snow” …so cool!

    • LOL Bev…that falling snow was an option I didn’t know I had on wordpress. I just started this new blog last night and when I saw I could ‘enable’ snowflakes until Jan. 4th I just had to do it. I really love the colors that these hydrangeas presented at the end of fall. There are so many, many colors that these bushes go through that I could shoot the same bush every week for the season and get a different color combo each time! Thanks for the comment…I appreciate you taking the time!

Leave a Reply

