What’s your Word for 2014

Recently a Facebook friend posted this question on her page. I hadn’t really thought about a word that could sum up my new year…but then it occurred to me…my word would have to be authenticity. For more years than I have fingers and toes to count I’ve tried to be what others expected me to be. I’ve created art that others had been successful selling. I always seemed to be chasing something that I was not. As I go into the year 2014 I’ll be turning 65. Oddly that’s not as scary as it sounds…especially to someone who still thinks shes 18. The only thing that’s changed is the body…there are aches and pains in places I didn’t even realize I possessed but when I’m in the creative flow I don’t even feel a twinge of anything other than the joy that surrounds the process.

MorningHasBroken

For years I’ve spent time behind the lens of different cameras. I never thought about using it as my ONLY creative outlet since I was trained as a traditional painter back in college and I just followed along…doing whatever was in vogue whether or not it felt authentic to me. Chasing money seemed to the main goal in my artistic endeavors. I’ve done it all but during the last year I’ve realized that doing it all didn’t allow for me to be my authentic creative self. I spent time meditating on what/when/where I felt the most relaxed, the most creative the most REAL…and like slipping into a well used pair of slippers the realization came to me that when I was calmest, happiest and most creative was when I was holding one of my many cameras with my eye pressed to the view finder and the world reduced down to what I could see through the lens.

I’ve always been around cameras. As a child I spent my formative years as my father’s model…a professional photographer himself it felt ‘normal’ for me to be in a darkroom mixing up magic or looking dreamily through a window while he yelled instructions at me. Photography has been the background music that’s run through my life. And in these ‘golden years’ I realize it’s the only music I want playing day after day. So…if you’re like me and want to explore the many avenues of creative photography, I welcome you to the Cafe…The Photo Artistry Cafe where I’ll be serving up all kinds of interesting recipes for making your photography take wing.

About PrimAndTattered

The Past ~ a little girl lived by the sea and dreamt of designing beautiful dresses for beautiful ladies. The Present ~ a seasoned seamstress who lives by the sea and designs folk art e-patterns to help others express their creative side and realize their dreams.
This entry was posted in Photography and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.