No Hunting

There’s a saying here in Jersey that if you don’t like the weather…wait a minute.  Since I’ve lived here all my life I can vouch for the truth contained in that statement.  This is a shot taken during a ‘freak’ snowstorm this week.  Since we’re on the coast we don’t often get snow and when we do it rarely lasts more than a day or two.

ImageThis particular image was taken down and around the corner from my home at a state park.  It’s home to wildlife including a herd of deer.  More than once we’ve safely avoided hitting one as they dash out of the woods and across the road.  I pass this sign sometimes three times a day but never noticed the beauty of it until I stood in that wet flying snow to snap this shot.

My camera was protected by a lens hood with a zip lock plastic bag so it was difficult to see just how it looked.  I shoot with a Nikon D90 but knew I wouldn’t be able to use the viewfinder so I snapped on Live View set a large aperture and hoped for the best.  Of the 136 shots I took at least 60% came out well.  I haven’t had the opportunity to do much editing on them but this one caught my eye and I just ‘went for it’ because I LOVE being a part of the Friday Finds on Kim Klassen’s blog.  Link up below!

Kim Klassen dot Com

About PrimAndTattered

The Past ~ a little girl lived by the sea and dreamt of designing beautiful dresses for beautiful ladies. The Present ~ a seasoned seamstress who lives by the sea and designs folk art e-patterns to help others express their creative side and realize their dreams.
This entry was posted in Forest, Friday Finds, Landscape, Nature, Photography, Winter and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to No Hunting

  1. Sylvia says:

    Great capture, beautiful tones, it gives such a lovely vintage feel !
    Wishing you a wonderful Christmas time,
    Sylvia

    • I couldn’t pass this one by…we usually don’t have a White Christmas and this one won’t be either since the Jersey Shore rarely keeps its snow for more than a day or two but I feel doubly blessed to have gotten out during two of the three storms we had …camera in hand! Have a very Merry Christmas!

  2. Beverly says:

    The woods always look so peaceful with a blanket of snow it everything, and the contrast is so beautiful Love the pile of snow on top of the sign. Have a wonderful Christmas!

  3. Love your explanation behind the shot and it makes it even more special. You know I don’t have much reason to use the live view as our weather doesn’t ward me to really need to but thank you for letting me know this. Good thing to know if I need in the future for this kind of weather.

  4. kathy says:

    So true about Jersey weather. The same for Philly too. I love reading your background info on the shot.

Leave a Reply

