Merry Christmas

When I was a child the standard greeting at this time of year was “Merry Christmas”!  We had never heard of being PC.  We wished our neighbors “Happy Hanukkah” because it mostly coincided with our own celebration and we never thought a thing was wrong with either greeting.  Today’s world has grown so small that we instantly know what is happening on the other side of the world…and we worry…sometimes about being in a never ending conflict but mostly we worry about being PC so we use the standard “Happy Holidays”.  In our attempt to keep everyone happy we have failed to see that by making ourselves generic we’ve taken away the best part of being an American…the joy of being diverse.  By carefully avoiding “Merry Christmas” we are bringing up future generations to be ashamed of celebrating a holiday that has been a tradition for centuries.  If you are Jewish and I say “Merry Christmas” I bet you don’t think I’m being rude and if you are Muslim and I wish you “Merry Christmas” you probably just smile and nod.

I don’t know exactly the day we stopped being ashamed of what we believe in but I’m sure that the media had something to do with it.  As a child I listened to the local station and my favorite DJ playing Christmas Music for 10 days before the 25th.  It wasn’t until I went to work for the same station that I found out he was Jewish!  Oy Vey! as they say…the world has become a crazy place.  That’s why I’m grateful I can still wish everyone I see a Merry Christmas and a Happy New Year and that the only thing PC in my life is my computer!  Linking up today with Kim Klassen for some holiday cheer and a bit of a peek at our Christmas tree.  Ho, Ho, Ho…Merry Christmas one and all!

Image

May all of your Holiday wishes come true.  For more wonderful holiday pix be sure to stop by and wish everyone at Kim Klassen’s blog a Happy Holiday!
kimklassencafe

About PrimAndTattered

The Past ~ a little girl lived by the sea and dreamt of designing beautiful dresses for beautiful ladies. The Present ~ a seasoned seamstress who lives by the sea and designs folk art e-patterns to help others express their creative side and realize their dreams.
This entry was posted in Christmas, Photography, Still Life, Texture Tuesdays, Winter and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Merry Christmas

  1. Merry Christmas and a Happy New Year!

  2. Beverly says:

    LOVE the tree with gorgeous bokeh!!! And, I LOVE your post! Merry Christmas and Happy New Year to you!

  3. Carol says:

    Very well said. Love your glimpse of the tree – beautiful! Merry Christmas to you too.

  4. deborah says:

    love the warmth of your image, and the thoughts you’ve conveyed here … so very true, and I agree! we need more thoughtful common sense and not so much ‘pc’-ness in this world! this is my first visit here from kim’s site. hope you and yours ave a wonderful and blessed new year!

  5. Sherry says:

    Amen and amen! Merry Christmas and Happy New Year to you as well. NEVER be ashamed and who cares if we are “PC”????????? Only the news media (and perhaps our President).

Leave a Reply

