Motherhood

Any discussion about mothers can quickly become a ‘bitchfest’ or a eulogy…there’s rarely a neutral platform that a mother stands upon.  Some of us learn our mothering skills from our own mother, some from watching the mothers of friends.  I remember being a young girl and patterning my future mothering skills on my best friend’s Mom.  She had infinite patience, great negotiating skills and virtually nothing bad to say to any human under the age of 90.  I wanted to be her when I grew up.

And so I did, or at least tried to emulate what I had seen in her.  I was the neighborhood “Mom” because while other mothers were out earning a living,  I made mine in a small studio attached to our home.  I was there when the scrapes and bruises occurred; when fights broke out both fierce and friendly; when a child or teenager needed to ‘vent’ about someone or something in their life.  I didn’t judge or at least I didn’t express my judgement of others in front of those tender psyches.  I was by no means a saint as my children will be the first to tell you.  But what I learned in my childhood years was that children need to have someone they can talk to without fear of reprisal or the summoning of guilt.  I think the greatest gift anyone ever gave me was when my daughter’s best friend came to me several years ago, gave me a hug and told me that she had learned to be a mother by watching me.  Is there anything better than being a role model?  I, at least, don’t think so.

Image

Mother&Child1small

Linking up to Kim Klassen’s Friday Finds

Kim Klassen dot Com

Another promise made in the New Year…to join more Blog Hops. So today I’m also joining Romantic Home with this post.

And linking here:

Pixel Dust Photo Art
About PrimAndTattered

The Past ~ a little girl lived by the sea and dreamt of designing beautiful dresses for beautiful ladies. The Present ~ a seasoned seamstress who lives by the sea and designs folk art e-patterns to help others express their creative side and realize their dreams.
This entry was posted in Flowers, Friday Finds, Mother, Photography, Still Life and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Motherhood

  1. Sarah says:

    I so love his. What a great gift to give to a child or teen!

    • My Mom is 90 now…I’ve always wished she could have been my role model 😦 I remember asking my daughter once why she liked me; liked hanging out with me. “Because you’re my MOM”!!! I so wish I could have felt that way with my own. I have come to understand as I’ve gotten older that a child bonds with their significant care giver. Since my mother didn’t want children and I was a Honeymoon ‘oops’ she gave me to my Great Aunt Carrie to raise…then she went back to work as a paralegal. She’s often told the story that my father made her quit and stay home when I ran out of the house screaming “I want Aunt Carrie………” She gave me a sister soon after and luckily my Sis got to enjoy the whole motherhood bonding thing.

    • Interesting, too that my sister was a Sara!

  2. You sound like a great mom. I’m thinking that I’m doing a better job as a Grandma then I did as a mom. I love my mom dearly even though we are both very different people.

    • I would LOVE to be a grandma…been buying things that will create memories for those granbabies but alas my children are slow to marry and procreate 🙂 By the time I am a Gran I’ll be old enough to be a great gran…LOL I haven’t given up hope,however, my 34 yro is ‘trying’ at the moment. You’re very lucky to have a good relationship with your Mom…mine unfortunately is the captain of the good ship GUILT 🙂

  3. Diane says:

    What a heart-warming post. I am not close to my mom, something I have finally come to terms with. Lovely photo.

    • I don’t often talk about my relationship because most people would not understand and the comment I get most often is “be glad you still have her”. Yes, I am grateful that she is living a long and full life but that doesn’t negate my feelings. Something that used to make me feel very guilty! Glad that you too have come to terms with your mother issues. Thanks for the compliment…I am so in love with photography as an artistic medium that I’m giddy 🙂

  4. Edna B says:

    What a beautiful bit of art you’ve made. Motherhood is a very difficult role, but so rewarding too. Happy New Year.

  5. Bonnie says:

    What a lovely marriage of image and prose to honor what it means to be a mother. So pleased you are sharing your artistry with Photo Art Friday!

    • I’m just now beginning to do what I love. For years family and friends told me to ‘go where the money is’ which meant doing creative things that I knew I could do but didn’t feel passionate about. Allowing myself to once again return to my photography after a 17 year hiatus has been so incredibly rewarding. In the 90’s we didn’t have digital but NOW…oh my, oh my…the experience is something beyond what I could ever have expected…I am so in LOVE 🙂 Thanks for your compliment/comment!

  6. Andrea Dawn says:

    I have that same Mother/Daughter figurine given to me by my sweet girl. Your artwork made me smile to have that connection.

    • When my daughter and s-i-l married they wanted to give their mothers something special. I got that figurine and my daughter’s m-i-l got the mother & boy one. It’s such a simple and delightful piece that it finds its way into a lot of my still life shots. So happy I could give you a smile 🙂

  7. Wonderful story and what a great role model you are.

  8. Cheryl M says:

    Lovely image artistry! It’s a shame you couldn’t have the bond with your Mother but it sounds like you learned HOW to be a Mother by knowing what a child needs in a Mother and you’re doing a great job!

Leave a Reply

