April Showers Bring May Flowers

As a kid did you ever hear your Momma say that “April showers bring May flowers”? I heard it yearly because April is my birthday month and I was desperate for a sunny birthday.  Honestly I don’t know what the weather was like this year.  It seems as if the end of March and the beginning of April has passed me by in a blur.  Life has been chaotic and the ‘new normal’ that has taken hold since my husband’s stroke last April reigns supreme.  So much so that I have had little time to notice what the weather has been doing lately.

Yesterday I did stop for a few moments because of Easter Sunday.  When I looked around me I realized that Spring has arrived at the Jersey Shore and I almost missed it!  So after the family dinner at my sister’s house I grabbed her garden clippers and pruned her rose bushes and stole a few sprigs of forsythia from her bright yellow hedge.  That made me take a good look around my own neighborhood and especially closely at the two abandoned properties across from me.  They both had rather a hodge podge of flowers and trees and when they left the blooms stayed…and bloomed while I wasn’t looking.  That’s when I decided I needed to make a foray into their backyards with my own garden nippers and snag some lonely tulips and daffodils.

They call the time around sunrise the “Magic Hour” and with good reason.  The light is amazing and everything seems to glow.  The picture below is one I snapped around 6:30 am this morning.  The sun wasn’t directly on this old mailbox because of the overgrown trees but I thought the capture was perfect once I ran it through Lightroom 5.  This is a link-up to Texture Tuesday at Kim Klassen’s Cafe.  For those of you who are fans of Kim’s I’ve included the process for altering as well as the metadata of the shot.  It feels good to be back behind the lens!

kimklassencafe

This photo was shot at approximately 6:30 am. ISO 200; 50mm prime Nikon lens; f/1.8; 1.500sec. It was processed in Lightroom 5 with Radiant2 a lightroom preset from http://2lilowls.com/. After I tweaked it to my liking I took it into Photoshop CC and applied Kim’s cool grunge set to softlight at 69% opacity. I had flipped it vertically to get the most grunge into the lower right. I then added kk_hsh2 set to multiply at 79% and removed some of the texture from the mailbox with an adjustment layer and a brush set to 20% opacity. I then flattened it and applied kk_isobel at hardlight opacity 49%. If you have any questions or I didn’t explain anything clearly just make a comment below. Here’s the photo from this morning’s ‘magic hour’.

US Mail

About PrimAndTattered

The Past ~ a little girl lived by the sea and dreamt of designing beautiful dresses for beautiful ladies. The Present ~ a seasoned seamstress who lives by the sea and designs folk art e-patterns to help others express their creative side and realize their dreams.
This entry was posted in Antiques, Flowers, Nature, Photography, Still Life, Texture Tuesdays and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to April Showers Bring May Flowers

  1. Beverly says:

    It is so very nice to see you back with a lovely post!! Mailboxes are so fun to capture, and yours is so pretty – just right choice of textures! Have a wonderful week!!

    • Hey there girlfren’…it’s GOOD to be back…life has been crazy for the last few months but now that my DD and her DH have found their own nest to decorate I can finally get back to my own! I hadn’t realized it would be so easy to get out of the ‘habit’ of photographing daily. I used all kinds of excuses but I’ve run out of them and since today starts S2F I am desperately hoping I won’t find any new excuses to take their places. And I have to agree with you…mailboxes are delightful to photograph…some of my favorite negatives from years ago are of old mailboxes from the Amish country in PA. We live in such a rural/suburban community that I’m now on the hunt for OLD ONES…seems all of the young families that are moving in want their mailboxes to be special…I think this one is more than special enough 🙂 Thanks for the comment!

  2. Barbara says:

    Oh man, I wish we had such lovely mailboxes in Holland! I love the soft texture you’ve used!

  3. Carmel says:

    Great image perfectly simple, with an amazing amount of editing.

    • Carmel…I think I love doing the editing almost as much as the photographing 🙂 Kim’s textures make it so simple…just about any one of them will work and each gives a totally different edit! When I looked through the day’s shots this one spoke to me because after years of weathering the Jersey storms it was already a lovely soft red so the editing was super simple. Thanks for the comment!

  4. Earl says:

    Wonderful. Beautiful soft colors. The texture of the mailbox is great.

Leave a Reply

