Kim Klassen’s Start 2 Finish class

Two days ago I started a new class with Kim Klassen…Start 2 Finish.  An 8 week course taking us from the conception of a photograph to the finalized version of that conceived idea.  As class members we are invited to post to a ‘secret’ Pinterest board.  As a veteran ‘pinner’ I happily started pinning away when I happened upon a photo that totally inspired me.  Here’s the blog it originally was pinned from: http://nely-bluehortensia.blogspot.com/ and the actual photo that stopped me and made me smile:

Image

If you are a Pinterest fan you can visit the original pin at this address: http://www.pinterest.com/pin/485474034804393848/

When a photo touches me I sometimes feel the need to interpret it. So today I visited the abandoned properties across from me where I knew there were grape hyacinths and daffodils growing unloved. I didn’t have any pretty teapots but this big mug worked out pretty well for me.

Simplicity-72dpi

For those of you who are Friday Finds girls here’s the metadata and overlay information: ISO 125; 50 mm Nikon prime lens; f/1.8; 1/180s. I brought it into Lightroom and adjusted the color and added a bit of a vignette.  I altered it with cool grunge overlay on soft light at 61% opacity; branded on soft light at 78% opacity. Both were worked with an adjustment layer and a soft brush set at 20%. The text is Trubble set to pin light at 76% opacity. This is a posting for Kim Klassen’s Friday Finds.
Kim Klassen dot Com

About PrimAndTattered

The Past ~ a little girl lived by the sea and dreamt of designing beautiful dresses for beautiful ladies. The Present ~ a seasoned seamstress who lives by the sea and designs folk art e-patterns to help others express their creative side and realize their dreams.
This entry was posted in Flowers, Friday Finds, Kim Klassen, Nature, Photography, Start 2 Finish, Still Life and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Kim Klassen’s Start 2 Finish class

  1. Your image is wonderful – great work!

  2. Melinda says:

    Lovely image!!!

  3. Such a fun pin and image result.

  4. Beverly says:

    Pinning for inspiration is what I love to do. Lovely cup of spring flowers!!

  5. Cheryl M says:

    The flowers are so pretty and I love that mug! Well done!

  6. I love how you are taking the class lesson and putting it to work already.

  7. Caz Sultz says:

    Love the Spring colors !

  8. I’m a pinned too, love your interpretation.

  9. So pretty! I’m loving your Pinspiration! 🙂

  10. fabulous spark… and wonderful work …. how lucky you are to have hyacinth and daffodils right across the way…. lovely… xo

Leave a Reply

