Kim Klassen’s Start to Finish

Those who don’t think that magic can still happen have never taken a class with my very favorite photographer, Kim Klassen!  At Kim Klassen’s Cafe there are available classes that can teach even an old dog like me new tricks.  I’ve always wondered how to get that soft and dreamy look that I’ve come to love.  With her new class, Start to Finish I’m finally coming close to creating photography that is magical and makes my heart beat just a bit faster.

kimklassencafe

Now don’t accuse me of being paid to say nice things (my price for that is higher than you’d be willing to pay…LOL) because I’m not…I’m just in love with the direction my life has taken.  If you read my blog post from the first of the year, you’d know that I decided that 2014 was the year to “get real”!  I’ve spent way too many years trying to be something or someone that I can never be.  I don’t know why I believed I wasn’t good enough just the way I was…probably because my early training came from my maiden aunt who tried keeping a curious and creative kid in line by telling her that even God didn’t like the way she acted.  Geesh…forget about the good ole days and the ‘keep ’em humble’ attitude!  Anyway, I digress…What I’m basically trying to say is that when you open yourself to the possibility of being real…in your art and in your life…wonderful, magical, amazing things can happen.  Things you didn’t even know you needed or wanted will come your way.  Such is the story of Kim’s Start to Finish class and me.  I won’t bore with the details but let me say that I almost missed the boat on this one and I NEEDED this class to help me define my direction.  I’ve learned so much already and we’re just starting week 3 of this 8 week course…*big sigh*…I can’t wait to see what develops!!!  Here is a piece I shot early this morning in my favorite patch of light.

Image

Violets

This week had a huge interruption with my cataract operation on Wednesday so I’m re-using a past post but linking up to Friday Finds. These were sweet little violets that I found in my yard under an apple tree this past Tuesday. I never planted them, they just seemed to appear one spring and now I get to enjoy them even longer this year. I’m giving this photo to my Mom for Mother’s Day since she’s a violet lover and of course purple is her favorite color. Oh, btw, the operation went wonderfully and my eye is healing nicely. The first ‘color’ I noticed when the patch came off? WHITE which isn’t of course a color but it let me see just how toned down ALL of the colors of my world had been for years! Can’t wait for round two on May 21st. This summer is going to be the brightest and most colorful one of all!

Kim Klassen dot Com

About PrimAndTattered

The Past ~ a little girl lived by the sea and dreamt of designing beautiful dresses for beautiful ladies. The Present ~ a seasoned seamstress who lives by the sea and designs folk art e-patterns to help others express their creative side and realize their dreams.
This entry was posted in Flowers, Kim Klassen, Nature, Photography, Start 2 Finish, Still Life and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Kim Klassen’s Start to Finish

  1. Jim says:

    You go. Be real ! Good for you. 🙂

  2. Love your patch of life and hope the surgery goes well for you, I know it did for me so I expect great things here from you and you being real suits you.

  3. Pieni Lintu says:

    Lovely flower photos!

  4. That first shot is divine!

  5. nancyjeannn says:

    just love your light … and the path you have taken. I so agree with you on Kim’s classes … so inspiring! see you in class!

  6. Kelly says:

    Beautiful words-you’re being brave and your own person-good for you. That first photo is perfect. Both are gorgeous. Visiting from the cafe

  7. Beverly says:

    Wow!!! Beautifully written about finding Kim and S2F!! Violets are one of my favorite spring flowers unfortunately none in my yard, so I’ll enjoy yours as much as possible! Spectacular compositions, light and colors!! I’m so happy for you about finding so many wonderful and deserving things in life!

  8. Melinda says:

    Love your post – and what you said about S2F and getting real- well put! Love your photography- and am glad your surgery went well!

  9. Caz Sultz says:

    So glad your surgery went well, how funny that the first color you noticed was white ! LOVE your photos, so delicate and romantic 🙂 Loving S2F2 !

  10. Andrea says:

    Hi Jersey Girl,
    I just love voilets. I am going to my mother’s tomorrow to dig some out of her garden, She thinks of them as weeds but look at how wonderful they are in a vase. She is also getting ready for the same surgery like you.

  11. So glad the surgery went well. I am loving Kim’s class too. This is the second time I have taken it, but it is making a much bigger impact on me this time.

  12. Mitzi Leah says:

    Simply beautiful. I love the lighting of these images

  13. Rob McKelvy says:

    lovely photos, and lovely you…

  14. RedWillow says:

    Just gorgeous.. Mend and heal.

  15. So beautiful. Nature’s gifts are amazing. (And you’ve captured them perfectly.) Wishing you a speedy recovery! 🙂

Leave a Reply

