Necessity IS the mother of Invention

I won’t lie…life has been difficult these last few years.  It’s a long story and one that, while it wouldn’t bore, might precipitate a pity party that I have no intention of attending.  That having been said I’ve found that ‘making do’ creates some amazing solutions that might otherwise have been overlooked on the sprint to purchase.  For example, the photos included for today’s Friday Finds, show images taken with a homemade ‘macro’ lens.  While it is not actually a macro it is definitely allows my ‘nifty fifty’ lens to get up close and personal with the flora and fauna of my yard.  The last photo shown is of a 52mm lens ring with an old magnifying lens attached with heavy duty double sided tape.  Kind of clunky but definitely a piece of equipment I enjoyed finding in an old camera bag yesterday.

Image

 

Image

 

Image

 

Image

Kim Klassen dot Com

About PrimAndTattered

The Past ~ a little girl lived by the sea and dreamt of designing beautiful dresses for beautiful ladies. The Present ~ a seasoned seamstress who lives by the sea and designs folk art e-patterns to help others express their creative side and realize their dreams.
This entry was posted in Flowers, Friday Finds, Kim Klassen, Mother, Photography and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Necessity IS the mother of Invention

  1. Beverly says:

    Fabulous!! Your photos are fantastic!

  2. Cool find, never seen anything like that. I guess the mother of invention. Great photos

    • My Dad had a saying that three days AFTER you threw something out you’d find a use for it…I use that as my excuse to ‘gather’ less than useful (to other people) items that I find either curbside or at a flea market. One has simply to have an open mind and ‘listen’ to what that item would like to become in its next life…LOL Thanks for the compliments btw!! 🙂

  3. Donna says:

    I share the story of a thrifty lifestyle by necessity. How wonderful that you made a great find and put it to use immediately. Beautiful close-ups of the delicate flowers.

    • Donna…it was a matter of finding a broken magnifying glass with a fabulous hand ground lens…vintage stuff that I simply could not throw out just because it was broken. There is always something that can be reused, upcycled, or repurposed…our job is just to figure out what its new life wants to be. I’m not sure that I would be half as creative if money wasn’t an issue! Thanks for the nice compliments btw 🙂

  4. Honest to goodness GOODNESS!

    • Thanks so much for your comment! I LOVE to make something out of nothing…back in the day they would call these items…Make Dos…cause obviously you were making due with what you had 🙂

  5. Sometimes the best shots come from the necessity of small budget and creativity.

    • Sarah, you are so right. Having lots of fancy equipment often hampers creativity 🙂 Having said that, I would of course LOVE to have all of the fancy extras but as my Dad (a professional photographer himself) always said: “it’s not the equipment but the photographer”.

Leave a Reply

