Photoshop CC for merged compositions

It’s summer at the Jersey Shore.  Time for the beach and surfing.  This is my ‘photo’ of the days of sand and surf even if I no longer sit under an umbrella by the sea … I enjoy the scenery just as much.  This is my “Sweet Surfer Boy”.

Image

Kind of reminds me of my first love…a boy named Bill who made my heart go pittypat every time he walked by.  Ahhhhh…for those innocent days of youth.  But hey, we didn’t have Photoshop or Lightroom back then so even tho I may *sigh* with sweet nostalgia … give me these days of high tech when I can take this shot…

Image

and merge it with the shot below and relive those days of nevermore.  Ah, sweet summer!

ImageFor those who are photo and tech savvy here’s how I did it.  I took the Polaroid into Lightroom and using one of own presets I lightened it to match the mood of the beach scene.  I then sent it to Photoshop CC and into a new ‘toy’ I’ve been playing around with … Studio Magic Pro-Panel by http://www.layercakeelements.com/studio-magic/  Using the cutout feature I removed the boy and his shadow from the Polaroid and moved him onto the beach scene.  Just a few tweaks and I’m pretty happy with the way it turned out for a first try.  I’m sure I’ll come back to this in the future and think how badly I did this!  The learning curve on Photoshop CC, Lightroom 5.5 and Studio Magic are steep and I’m still at the bottom of the hill.  But at least “Sweet Surfer Boy” conveys (to me) the feeling of an early summer day on the soft sands of the beach in Belmar, NJ.

Linking up to Kim Klassen’s Cafe for Friday Finds. I think that this LayerCake program is the BEST find I’ve had all year. Had no idea that I could do so much with a simple extraction. I showed the photo to my 90 yro Mom and when I showed her the empty beach scene she wanted to know where the surfer went 🙂 She just doesn’t get ME 😦 We’ve just finished up with our S2F group on Kim’s cafe and I’m going to miss the friends I made there in the connects and critiques but there is always Texture Tuesdays and Friday Finds!
Kim Klassen dot Com

About PrimAndTattered

The Past ~ a little girl lived by the sea and dreamt of designing beautiful dresses for beautiful ladies. The Present ~ a seasoned seamstress who lives by the sea and designs folk art e-patterns to help others express their creative side and realize their dreams.
This entry was posted in Daily Blogging, Daily Posting, Friday Finds, Kim Klassen, Landscape, Nature, Photography and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Photoshop CC for merged compositions

  1. Love what you did with the photo.

  2. Thoughts from the Desktop says:

    Wow, I must check this out, a wonderful layout the colours are so perfect..

  3. Roxi says:

    This absolutely fabulous! The tones are awesome and I think I need to checkmate out that software.

  4. Donna says:

    I think you did an awesome job… great photo!

  5. Andrea says:

    Hi Cat, I hear about your nomination and your new Facebook opportunity. Wonderful!

Leave a Reply

