Damn those dots…

http://dailypost.wordpress.com/dp_prompt/by-the-dots/

We all have strange relationships with punctuation — do you overuse exclamation marks? Do you avoid semicolons like the plague? What type of punctuation could you never live without? Tell us all about your punctuation quirks!

I’m not even sure what you would call the style of writing I’ve developed, but it’s mine.  So here’s the back story on that… Instead of college my parents decided I should attend a business school so I could become a secretary like my Mom…now remember it was the 60’s but I wasn’t a radical and followed parents orders so…I went to the best one year business school in our county and that’s when my real life began!

Suffice it to say that you really don’t want/need to learn the whys and wherefores of how I graduated business school and went straight into my dream job of copywriting but because I did my writing style and all of the ‘good’ English composition that I’d learned went out the window.  I spent 12 years in the trenches writing for the largest radio station in Central New Jersey and learned a quirky style of writing that I have not been able to change since that first day on the job in 1968.  Not that I’d really want to change it…it’s become so ME that to change it would be to change who I’ve become.

So let me quickly explain that those damn three dots … are so a part of me that I couldn’t imagine writing any other way.  I don’t even know what the ‘world’ would call them but in radio ‘speak’ they were essential to the copy…they told the announcer to…PAUSE!!!

So here I am, a liberated woman in her mid-sixties writing like she learned in the radical 60’s because an old dawg ain’t gonna learn new tricks.  Besides…with those damn dots I don’t have to worry about punctuation…you get to add the colon or semi-colon or period or comma on your own.  You know how to punctuate a sentence better than I do after all!!!

About PrimAndTattered

The Past ~ a little girl lived by the sea and dreamt of designing beautiful dresses for beautiful ladies. The Present ~ a seasoned seamstress who lives by the sea and designs folk art e-patterns to help others express their creative side and realize their dreams.
This entry was posted in Daily Blogging, Daily Posting, Writing 101 and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

